Betamethasone Valerate Cream: Eczema Treatment Medicine

Alright, review time! From the title, you may noticed that I highlight on the Betamethasone Valerate Cream. I used to have quite severe eczema on my right hand, to be exact, it occurred in between of my fingers– so I went to see doctor. My symptoms exactly like we see in this link.

Main Symptoms

  • Itchiness
  • Redness

Thus, after have been suggested by the doctor, I got that Betamethasone Valerate Cream plus with white lotion cream.

Yup, betamethasone sounds scary when you do understand nothing about it. No worries, let me explain to you first. This medicationis used to treat skin infection – dermatitis, allergies, rash, eczema, because this betamethasone valerate is a medium-strength anti-inflammatory corticosteroid that do helps reduces itching, swelling and redness of the skin. It contain gentamicin, an aminoglycoside antibiotic that works by getting the bacteria stop grow.
Just in case, if you want to know further details, you may check out this myhealth site.

Like I have mentioned above, I do have those patches of eczema on my right hand’s fingers, it do sometimes get itchy and whenever I scratched them, it went flare up. More badly, those patches bleed. So, don’t ever get yourself into this situation.

Remember, don’t touch and scratch those patches! The bacteria from patches might spread to other parts of you.

I literally used that betasone cream 0.1% that I got from doctor and thank goodness, it helps me to relieve the pain of itchiness and in the meantime, helps to relieve the symptoms.

Directions
Apply over affected area – FOR EXTERNAL USE ONLY

  • Adults: 1 to 3 times a day
  • Children: Once a day
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • Dosage use: according the condition of affected area

Colour
White opaque cream. It do blend well into your skin too.

I only applied the cream when my fingers start to get red and itchy (it’s up to you) and only when I am not eating or doing anything that needs for me to use my hands. Nevertheless, you need to be concern on how poisonous the cream is. Just please immediately wash your hands before and after applying it. As for me, I usually use my finger to apply the cream on the affected areas because I don’t feel satisfied using cotton-bud or any type of cottons. But no worries if you are applying those cream with the correct amount, it won’t sting nor burn the affected area and you are good.

Quick reminder from doctor to me, I can’t let the cream prolong on my skin. It might give some bad effects. Especially to pregnant women out there, it is a caution for them. It is a controlled medicine. Hence, after around 30 minutes, I apply the same affected areas with the other cream – unnamed white lotion cream, so it doesn’t harm me in any ways.
But you should take note on them:

  • Prolong use; moon face, glaucoma, thinning of skin – easy bruising
  • Reddish purple lines on – arm, legs, trunk or groin.
  • Atrophic changes in skin – secondary infections, burning, itching, irritation, dryness, folliculitis, hypertrichosis, acne and pigmentation

Don’t expect you will get heal in the short period of time. It may takes a few weeks and so on weeks. Eczema is not one time event infection, it is a session thing. It comes and go, according to the condition and environment too. Plus, I did struggled with the eczema infection between of my fingers for almost one month, it get on and off in those mean time. Thus, no matter what, follow all directions that stated on your label medicine package and seek doctor or pharmacist for further help in your healthcare if needed. It is a controlled medicine.

To get more details on these Betamethasone Valerate Cream, it stated on the package box that it is manufactured by HOVID Bhd, totally made from Ipoh, Malaysia. Not to forget, it still have its own expiry date, usually the time given for expiration for this cream (on the package box); 2 years 11 month++

Contents

  • Micronized Betamethasone (as 17-valerate) 0.1% w/w – 15 g
  • Preservative: chlorocresol 0.1% w/w
  • Preservative: chlorocresol 0.1% w/w

Betamethasone Valerate Cream Information

  • Betamethasone (as 17-valerate) 0.1% w/w
  • Store below 25oC, Protect from light
  • Available Cream in: 15 g, 50 g, 500 g

Overall, I would like to give 4 out of 5 stars since I do satisfied with the results. I told you, after I am done treating and healing the eczema that I had on my fingers, the eczema hardly come by again. Of course, I put on extra care on my hygienic too to prevent the infection.

Hence, I do really want to recommend it to all of you because it is indeed to give the positive outcomes.

Anyway, I hope my review helps you a lot! If you do want to recommend new products / add some opinions on today topic, you may comment on the bellow box, so my readers and I can check it out later.

Leave a comment